Cooking, Dogs, Family, Food, Funny, Kitchen, Love, Projects, Renovation

Final Product.

Nov 1st-3rd

Luckily I am able to have quite a bit of flexibility in my job, so the morning of the 2nd I took half of the day off, so I could be present when the granite arrived.

Between 9 and 10. This what I had been told.

9am: Nothing (Cool, not a big deal. They don’t have to be here right at 9.)

9:30am: Still nothing (Ansty in my pantsy, but that’s fine, no worries.)

10am: Mild annoyance sets in….

10:30: Strong annoyance sets in and I make a phone call.

“Hey, you guys said between 9 and 10 and now it’s 10:40am. I have to go back to work here pretty soon.”

“They are still not there? They left a while ago,” the guy says.

It freaking figures that right at that moment, they pull up. Typical. It’s almost as if they know.

It’s just as gorgeous as I remember. They place the first piece and I know that BoyScout and I had made the right decision.

wp-1478030721629.jpg

Another hour rolls by and BoyScout tag teams me out so I can head to work. Now I have to wait, not a super patient person by the way, and BoyScout sends no pictures…bad form sir, bad form.

2pm: A get a text from Boy Scout saying that they had completed the job and it was all done.

A picture doesn’t do it justice and I rush home to see it for myself.

Wham!! It is gorgeous.

part0.jpg

It’s a real kitchen! A fully, well almost fully functional kitchen. (Notice no faucet, ergo no water) but WHO cares?! This is amazing.

I spend the rest of my evening in the kitchen, staring at it….

Nov. 2nd

The plumber comes to install the faucet and get the dishwasher running so we don’t have to wash dishes in the bathtub anymore.

Not gonna lie, it wasn’t that big of a deal, but the dishwasher was beginning to stink and the dogs were starting to nose at it. Freak-o’s. Unfortunately he brought the wrong piping and would have to finish the next day.

Drats…but at least Handyman Dad would be able to help him out while we were working.

Nov. 3rd

Yay it’s my birthday and I get the bestest present ever! This is the nicest thing I had ever given myself.

I truly do love myself….

First thing we do with the kitchen is cook my birthday dinner for our families.

Before: April 2014

IMG_20141211_171655345

my exasperating kitchen.

 

After: November 2016

wp-1478551321915.jpg

Honestly, I never thought it could look like this. I just went for what I liked, not really thinking about the end product.

Were there some concessions? Yes. Were there some fights? Oh yea, sushi style fights.

Did I stay within my imagined budget? No. Am I bothered by that? Meh…a little, but i’ll get over it.

A lot of people have a very distinguished style, you just know it’s their house when you walk into their home. I know this house is special (I named it the Quirky Corner House for goodness sakes) but I never felt the true vibe of it until now.

It has lived through almost 8 decades and seen the changes that occur around a booming small Texas town. That amount of time lived deserves care and respect and I finally understand that. It only took me 2 years.

As you walk from room to room you notice 5 colors;

Gold: Used sparingly in the granite, the golden comforter, and the Texas map on the living room wall.

Brown: Probably my favorite and mostly widely used color. Walnut stained cabinets, wood floors, Mississippi Mud in the kitchen and office, the leather couches that BoyScout picked out. *Thumbs up!

Red: The rug in the master gifted to me by my sister.

Black: Repainted shelves that showcase the bar, the chalk wall and the black and white photographs that surround the TV in the living room.

Blue: The living room wall and the rug in the nook area, and perfectly made roman shade with matching towel. Thank you Jacqui!

Without even realizing what we were doing BoyScout and I were creating a style for our Quirky home.

Warm, earthy tones, with leather and wood pieces meant to fit in a 1930s house. Simple and timeless objects placed in certain spots and books stacked in shelves around the living room.

Cozy, like the library that I always wanted. A bay window that is perfect for watching the rain or the people walking by.

We lay in bed discussing the day after everyone goes home and BoyScout looks over to me.

“We’ve done really well with this house,” he says. “I love everything about our kitchen.”

I smile back and pause for a moment before responding.

“We have to pick out a backsplash now.”

He rolls his eyes and laughs. The work is never done is it?

 

 

Standard

One thought on “Final Product.

Leave a comment